Cathedral of the Assumption
The Cathedral of the Assumption is a functioning cathedral; it is one of the most frequently visited cathedrals in Omsk. It was destroyed in the Soviet era and restored in 2007 on the money gathered specifically by the citizens. The construction of the cathedral started on July 16, 1891. The first stone in the foundation was laid by the future Russian emperor Nicolas II. The area of the cathedral was 1518 m, the height of the bell tower - 44 m, the height of the cross - 3 m and the diameter of the dome - 15 m. In 1923 the services in the cathedral ceased. The building, taken under the control of the Soviet administration, stood empty for a long time. In 1935 it was decided to demolish the building. The cathedral was blown up. Starting from 1949 a city Christmas tree and a winter playground were annually set up at the site of the cathedral. The Cathedral of the Assumption is considered a unique historical monument, one of the major curiosities of Russia. On February 25, 2009 a reliquary of the new martyr Silvester was installed in the cathedral.