Buryatia History Museum
The History Museum was founded in 1919 as the main museum of the « Pribaikalye Study Society ». In 1921, it was renamed Pribaikalksy Regional Museum and late the Ethnographic Museum of Verkhneudinsk. Today the museum located in the historical building of the former college is called Buryatia History Museum.
Its collection totals more than 100,000 items including medals, rare books and Buryat traditional clothes. The third floor is dedicated to Buddhist art and gathers many fascinating art items spared from soviet destruction.