Krasnoyarsk’s Central Park is located in the historical center of the city on the left bank of Yenisei River. It covers an area of 15ha.
The park was founded in 1828 near the secondary residence of the first Governor of the area, A. Stepanov, as a municipal garden. At first it was a pine forest covering the ground from Yenisei River to Kacha River.
In 1934, the municipal garden was renamed as the Gorky Culture and Leisure Park. It was divided into two parts: the active part, located on the western side of the main path where most of the attractions were (for example the big wheel with its 31.5 meters of diameter) and the quiet part on the eastern side. This part had many rare trees including old pines.
In 1936 the park welcomed the first railroad for children of Russia. The width of its tracks is unique: 508 mm. In 2002 the park received its current name - Central Park – and was rented by a private compaby for the next 25 years.