The Trinity Lavra of St. Sergius
The Trinity Lavra of St. Sergius (Troitse-Sergiyeva Lavra) is open every day, the entry is free of charge, but taking pictures is to be paid.
Sergiev Possad city is considered to be one of the cradles of orthodoxy. In fact, it is here that St. Sergius of Radonezh, founder of the Trinity Lavra of St. Sergius, built his house.
The Trinity Lavra of St. Sergius is one of the most important monasteries built in the region. It was erected between the 16th and the 17th centuries. After the death of his parents, in 1337, at the age of 23 Bartholomew (later became St. Sergius) secluded with his brother Stefan in the forest of Radonezh. They built a small cell and a church in the honor of the Holy Trinity, and laid the first stone of the Trinity Lavra of St. Sergius. The Monastery, unique in its kind, was included into UNESCO World Heritage list in 1993.
Several fortified walls were erected during the centuries in order to protect the Lavra from different invasions. The Monastery has preserved its fortified walls as well as 10 towers. One can also see 8 churches; some of them are particularly beautiful. Among the treasures of the Lavra, one can find the painting “The Trinity” by Andrey Rublev. On the territory there is also a library and several cafes.