Saint Alexander Convent
The convent for women of Saint Alexander (Alexandrovsky) was founded in 1240 by Alexander Nevsky. Unfortunately none of the architectural monuments from that time remains now.
The buildings that we can see date back to the 17th century. In 1695, on the territory of the convent the Church of the Ascension was erected to replace the former church that had burned. In 1764, the convent closed down and the church became a parish. The bell-tower built then is unique in Suzdal. It is made of a octahedron pillar without any decorations. The fence of the monastery has almost entirely disappeared. Only the Holy Gates and a small two-levels tower are left.
In 2006 the Alexandrovsky Convent was returned to the Russian Orthodox Church and in September 2007 the first religious service took place in the church of Ascension.